2017 Executive Committee

Mike Easley, President
Preferred Management Corp.
Austin, Texas

Kelly Cheek, President Elect
Big County AHEC
Abilene, Texas

J. Kevin Langford, PhD, Secretary
Stephen F. Austin University
Nacogdoches, Texas

Julie Meyer, Treasurer
Community Medical Associates
San Angelo, Texas 76904

John Bowling, DO, Past President
Univ. of North Texas Health Science Center
Fort Worth, Texas


TRHA Staff

Krista R. DuRapau, Executive Director




2017 Board of Directors

Karen Brown
Texas AHEC East
Waco, Texas

Tommy Sweat
Panhandle AHEC
Plainview, Texas

Marcie D. Crisp
The University of Texas at Tyler
Tyler, Texas

Mike Thompson
Converse, Texas

Jorge Botello
South Texas Rural Health Services
Cotulla, Texas

Bel Flores
South Coastal AHEC
Corpus Christi, Texas

Jeffrey Hatala
Texas A&M University
College Station, Texas

Paula Winkler
South Central AHEC
San Antonio, Texas 


Jonathon Voelkel, MBA, was named administrator of Culberson Hospital August 2015.   He brings 30 years of healthcare experience to Culberson County, including 8 years as the administrator/chief executive officer of Willbarger General Hospital, a 49-bed hospital in Vernon, Texas.  He also served for 2 years as the director of human resources of Mena Regional Health System (previously named Mena Medical Center), a 65-bed hospital in Mena, Arkansas, before he was promoted to assistant administrator.   As a result of his administrative assignments Voelkel has extensive experience in fiscal, strategic and operational leadership of hospitals.  This is complemented by his early clinical experiences as a PT aide, emergency medical technician and medical laboratory technician.

Voelkel received his master’s in business administration from Webster University, St. Louis, Missouri, and a bachelor of science degree in organizational management from John Brown University, Siloam Springs, Arkansas.  He has a served as an adjunct faculty instructor at Rich Mountain Community College, Mena, Arkansas.

Candy Powell graduated from Wellington High School in 1987. She received her associate degree in radiology from Amarillo College, Amarillo, Texas, in 1989 and completed her training at Northwest Texas Hospital. She began her career in healthcare as an X-ray technician at Elk City Community Hospital, joining the staff of Collingsworth General Hospital as the director of radiology. By 1996 Powell was overseeing the operations of the radiology and laboratory, housekeeping, maintenance and central supply departments. In September 2001 she was promoted to assistant administrator of the hospital and was named hospital administrator in August 2006. Powell has a strong commitment to Collingsworth General Hospital and the community because she loves working in her hometown and taking care of her friends and neighbors. Powell is married to Jeff Powell and has three children, Mason, Keedon and Brecklyn ages 18, 15 and three.

Jerry Howell Hospital Administrator Jerry Howell, administrator of Sabine County Hospital, brings more than 30 years of healthcare experience to the Hemphill area, including 22 years as the CEO of a 49-bed hospital in Columbia, Mississippi, and another 3 years as interim CEO for critical access hospitals in Virginia, Mississippi and Oklahoma.  He has worked for both freestanding hospitals and hospitals affiliated with national and regional healthcare companies, including a stint as a regional director of hospital services for Pioneer Health Services and consultant chief executive officer for Rural Community Hospitals of America.   

Throughout his career, Howell has been active in professional, community and church organizations including serving on the board of the Mississippi Hospital Association, working with county economic development groups and local chamber of commerce organizations, and serving as a deacon in his church.  He also served as the “Voice of the Wildcats” for Columbia High School football in Columbia, Mississippi.  Howell received his Masters in Business Administration and his Bachelor of Science degrees from the University of Southern Mississippi, Hattiesburg.    

Ann Smith, University of North Texas

Bylaws for review

Texas Rural Health Association is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.  

(c) 2016 TRHA 

Call or Fax Us

Office: (512) 368-9860

Fax: (866) 235-2557

Mailing Address:

PO Box 201363

Austin, TX 78720

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software